Skyscanner,my best friend!

Posted: July 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

So,everyone is planning a holiday this December, during new year.Some friends are off to the resplendent Goa! Some are planning their trip to the magnificent Kerala back waters. Some are planning their trip to the exquisite Singapore. But me, nah! I am going nowhere. Won’t be back home also, for the new year occasion. So I was sitting in my room with the forlorn thought of staying back whereas my friends will be visiting some statuesque places all over the world.

Then,as I was surfing Blogadda , I espied the Skyscanner contest of blogging and winning a trip.I had a very long time wish to visit the grandiose place, or rather lavishly beautiful place, The Netherlands!.And then, I started off planning my trip to Koninkrijk der Nederlanden with my best friend,Skyscanner.

Schiphol, Amsterdam Airport. My Dream! to visit this heaven some day!

Schiphol, Amsterdam Airport. My Dream! to visit this heaven some day!

As all of you know, the first priority for every trip is the travelling worries. Are the flights available? What is the cost of the ticket? and other issues. Finally I managed to get a ticket on the date,which I was expecting. 28th December,2014. And the ticket would cost Rs 59919. Now you people are absolutely wondering, man, if the ticket is of 60,000 rupees, then where will you live? and how will you survive? Will you stay on the roads? Nah nah. Absolutely not people. This is just the starting. even if the ticket is of 59919, I still have some capital left with me. And with that very little capital, I will fulfill my dream to visit Amsterdam.

The Second flight is my preference - because I will be able to experience the Abu Dhabi Airport too

The Second flight is my preference – because I will be able to experience the Abu Dhabi Airport too

First flight on the Jet Airways from CCU to AUH towards my dreamland Koninkrijk der Nederlanden!

First flight on the Jet Airways from CCU to AUH towards my dreamland Koninkrijk der Nederlanden!

Ah,who wouldn’t miss the opportunity to visit the Abu Dhabi airport. That thing will be a cherry-on-the-top of the cake experience. Though I know I won’t be able to roam outside the AUH airport, but atleast it would be absolutely fun.

Final flight from AUH to AMS, in the beautiful Etihad Airways towards my dreamland Koninkrijk der Nederlanden!

Final flight from AUH to AMS, in the beautiful Etihad Airways towards my dreamland Koninkrijk der Nederlanden!

Now above you see, is the absolute truth in my words. The tickets are of 59919 INR. Which proves I have approximately 40000 INR to find a hotel and rent a car.And I know some of you have already stopped thinking on will I be able to survive. But,I know my ways. So, I started my search of finding a hotel in the cheapest way possible. So, I asked my friend, Skyscanner to find me one. And it did manage to find me a 4-star hotel. Yes a Four Star hotel, within the price I wanted. That is, the Hotel I booked that is, Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Airport. Yes,it is an absolutely 4 star hotel with one of the best ratings a hotel can have.Plus one more beautiful feature it has is, it has a free wifi connection so that I could share my feelings and sightseeing places with everyone. So, I will book the hotel and it would cost me around 21812 INR, which is approximately 22000 INR.

Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Airport - The hotel where I could stay in an awesomest way

Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Airport – The hotel where I could stay in an awesomest way

The beautiful Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Airport

The beautiful Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Airport

The interior of the beautiful Hotel Mercure, Amsterdam!

The interior of the beautiful Hotel Mercure, Amsterdam!

After that, now comes is the car-renting service. As I know I’m low on money I will spend absolutely wisely, and also, as I am travelling all alone to the beautiful paradise, I would see to it that, anything would be preferable.So, I decided to choose a small car, something which would be equivalent to the Chevrolet Spark, or like the Kia Picanto. Which would cost me around 10701 INR. And, the car will be then booked for the next 5 days. Starting from receiving me at the airport to dropping me back.

The Chevrolet spark, which is one of my preferred cars to roam around the country or rather, Amsterdam itself

The Chevrolet spark, which is one of my preferred cars to roam around the country or rather, Amsterdam itself

the second option for me, the Kia Picanto, which will let me explore the paradise called Netherlands

the second option for me, the Kia Picanto, which will let me explore the paradise called Netherlands

So, now you must be convinced that, man, all the money has finished?

Hahha! Absolutely not,my friend. Absolutely not. The total cost comes down to 92432 INR, which is less than 1,00,000INR. I guess I do have some money for buying the souvenir.

And, wait, it’s not yet over guys. I still have my itinerary to share with everyone of you.

Day 1: I would land at the Schiphol airport,there the driver would be probably waiting for me outside the Airport terminal. Then after a long drive I would check-in at the hotel, and then the first day I would meet some of the friends and rest at the hotel itself. After, 20+ hours of journey, who wouldn’t be tired,eh?

The Schiphol airport,from inside! Ain't it so beautiful

The Schiphol airport,from inside! Ain’t it so beautiful

Day 2: I would try my best to convince the driver, to go to Belgium for the fix of beer-and-chocolates ah. If he agrees then well and good and take tours of Antwerp and Brussels. Will click exquisite and rejuvenating pictures all over Belgium.If he doesn’t agree then I will switch to visiting Rotterdam and some other places viz. the flower fields at Keukenhof Gardens,fishing villages of Marken and Volendam, local cheese farms, windmills, and the famous blue pottery of Delft.And then tired and hustled I will return back to my hotel only to get ready for the next day of my pa-pa-paradise tour!

A glimpse of Brussels, the capital of Belgium.! One of the beautiful places in the city

A glimpse of Brussels, the capital of Belgium.! One of the beautiful places in the city

If not Brussels, then absolutely Rotterdam!

The magnificent Rotterdam city and port, Netherlands

The magnificent Rotterdam city and port, Netherlands

Day 3: Will start by the Dam Square, which is also known as the heart of the city. also with that I will visit the 15th century Nieuwe Kerk and stately Royal Palace. After searching, I found that the Waterlooplein market is nearby, and the Rembrandthuis Museum is just around the corner. After that, If I manage to cash out some money, I would ride the canal pass to feel the city and move through canals all over.

The Dam Square, Netherlands!

The Dam Square, Netherlands!

And along with, never miss the Royal Palace, it’s a suggestion by my friends living in the paradise!

The Royal Palace of the Netherlands!

The Royal Palace of the Netherlands!

Day 4: Day 4 I will start with the Anne Frank House, Jordaan neighborhood along Prinsengracht towards Museumplein which means “Museum Square” in Dutch,the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum,Foam museum of photography,Centraal Station and Oosterdok to admire the cutting-edge Renzo Piano architecture of Nemo science museum and the Stedelijk Museum and finally the evening at the Vondelpark or Oosterpark. Nearby to the Oosterpark there is the Tropenmuseum.

The awesome Museumplein,Amsterdam

The awesome Museumplein,Amsterdam

The Tropenmuseum, Amsterdam! a beauty!

The Tropenmuseum, Amsterdam! a beauty!

Day 5: Morning time will share all the pictures clicked by me via the hotel wifi to make my badass friends jealous and ending up envying me. And as scheduled,the flight will be leaving in the evening, and then I would be all back the next day home, after so much of beautiful experiences and feeling the heaven called “Amsterdam”.

And, More importantly I would thank my bestie Skyscanner for planning and helping me.

This post is a part of Skyscanner travel wizard activity at BlogAdda.com

Comments
  1. Anita says:

    Very nicely shared with great detailed planning!
    For me this is a Winner post 🙂 Best wishes for the contest 🙂

  2. I hope you get to visit Amsterdam soon! Your passion shows in this post, it really does. Love the way you wrote, btw.

Leave a Reply

