A dream at the city of Melbourne!

Posted: December 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

Actually,it all started when I was talking to a relative in Australia.And she was explaining me,how beautiful the city Melbourne is. She lives in Canberra,but she did visit Melbourne once. She loved the city so much, that she was forcing her husband to switch his business from Canberra to Melbourne.She even persuaded to After a long talk with her,I was still not convinced that Melbourne can be so beautiful.So, I started browsing on the internet,about the splendid city of Melbourne.Slowly one by one, the monuments and places of interest came on the palm of my hands.I was stunned at the very first sight of Melbourne and it’s marvelous sightseeing places. And,as it was late at night, so, my mom called me for dinner, and, I reluctantly went for the dinner. After the dinner, I forgot about Melbourne and, as the normal routine, I went and fell asleep in my room.That’s when the actual incident happened me.

I woke up just to see myself at the Sun Theater at Yarraville , with a friend sitting beside me and yelling at me,”Dude wake up, we have time only till evening”.I exclaimed,”Where the hell on earth am I? How did I reach this place?I was sleeping at home!”.She explained,that I and her were watching a movie at the Sun Theater at Yarraville,Melbourne and after that we had only a day’s time to roam the beautiful city of Melbourne. So,I was finally convinced that it was Melbourne and not my home.I decided to leave the movie midway with her, and I did realize that, I had only a day’s time, because the reminder on my phone had rang and it flashed,”Air India Flight number 301 scheduled for Wednesday,31st December 2014″.I was convinced, I had only a day’s time to roam the exquisite city of Melbourne.So, after a heated discussion,for two minutes(obviously we were running short of time), we decided to visit the Yarra Valley Wineries to have a sip of one of the world’s finest wines and also because it was nearby to Yarraville as well.Obviously I cannot explain the taste of the wine because, it was just brilliant.Then,we saw that we were too late,so we instantly left for the Queen Victoria Market.Because somehow, we knew that it will close at 2pm, on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

We reached Queen Victoria market just after 15 minutes of leaving the Sun Theater.The market was just as beautiful as I had read in the article last day.So much diversity in food,clothes and other such items.I could never believe, that the market would be so beautiful as my imagination.Everything can be found there, ranging from food, clothes to beautiful handicrafts and handmade art pieces by various artisans.And the entrance of the market was so eye-striking and mesmerizing that, I couldn’t stop staring actually. The animal caricature and, the yellow lights inside seemed so glowing that I mistook myself for being inside in a golden market.After seeing various shops and various things, I decided to buy a small jewellery box from the Framin’ Souvenir shop.I couldn’t see the price I paid in AU$ but, anyways, I could see I bought it. After that we both,again started with a heated discussion on where to hit next.Later,the same happened, but it was decided mutually.We together decided to visit the Hosier lane as it was nearby and after that, we would ride the beautiful Melbourne City Tram.And, we left Queen Victoria Market.

After some time we saw ourselves amidst the beautiful graffiti of Hosier lane, or I think calling them graffiti would be an injustice to the paintings.I’d love to call them,art! The street art was amazingly beautiful,and we both started capturing the art in our devices as much as we could. But, it was too less,for the beauty which could be experienced with our precious eyes.With a very sad feeling, we saw the time.It was 2.15pm! The afternoon was already half gone.We had very less time and,too many places to visit. I could see my friend, being silent because she knew, we won’t be able to visit so much places together. But,I assured her, to come along with me, and I ensured that I visited much of the places, so that later if someone asked me,”How much Melbourne did you roam?”, I could answer,”Nothing Left hah!”.

Then, after finishing Hosier lane, my friend stopped arguing and I knew, she would follow me wherever I went. So,we together instantly left for,Penguin Parade. Ah, who wouldn’t go to see the beautiful penguins. They were so cute and pretty.My friend tried to click one of them when, the little penguin threw sand on her camera. That was a hearty moment.After that we checked out the time. It was 4pm already.Not much time was left and so we left for the Flinders Street Station.It was one of the best stations I had visited ever. The dome reminded me of, Chattrapati Shivaji Terminus,Mumbai,but it looked much better and glamorous.From there we left for the Immigration museum.We kinda felt like a journey through Melbourne’s history and explored stories of people all over the world who have come and settled in Melbourne.The museum was pretty beautiful and amazing as well.

After that, we rode on the beautiful Melbourne City Tram for a few minutes too.The city tram was beautiful and we could see many beautiful buildings and various sightseeing places within the tram as well.Sometime later,we got down the tram and, we left for the 12 Apostles at Great Ocean Road.The sun was just setting in and then, the scenario was just, just, mesmerizing and speechless.The huge rocks made of limestone were changing their colour beautifully and they turned to light from dark colour,which was an eye-striking beauty for us.And,after that, we wanted to visit the other monuments too,but as we fell short of time, we decided to return back to our hotel as well. We got into the, City tram and, I fell asleep there.

Then,I saw my mom waking me up and saying me,”Wake up, it’s morning!It’s 7am”.I seemed to be too tired and, I asked my mom where was I.She asked me whether I had gone crazy? I was at home. Back home and sadly, I realized I was dreaming of roaming around Melbourne. But,later when I saw my dressing table, I saw the small jewellery box lying on the top of the table.

Was it a dream? Or did I actually visit Melbourne?

This post is a part of the Visit Melbourne contest by Indiblogger

Also, a sincere request to you readers! Answer my question and get a chance to win a shopping vouchers worth Rs 500/- !!
The question to all of you is..

Which of these places would you want to visit in Melbourne and why?

The contest has been closed.

The winner of the above contest is “Sammya” and his blog is http://www.deckleedge.info .

Comments
  1. radhika17 says:

    I’d say, I’d love to visit MCG, the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Even though I’m not much of a cricket fanatic, I do wish to see India fight against Australia this world cup while I gulp down my maaza because when it comes to the World Cup, I’m a hard core cricket fan who takes up watching all night and making bets too (with family only :3) !

    BTW, very enthralling and illustrative post. Melbourne is no doubt the most livable city in the world.

    radhika-feelingfree.blogspot.com

    • bengaliceo says:

      Hello Radhika! Your answer was pretty good. It’s true that MCG is obviously a place to visit. Though I’m not much of a cricket fan, but still after reading to your reply even I feel I should have visited MCG as well.

  2. Hola Mr CEO. The point is, there is a curious connection between my and your posts (in a very different way though)… 😀
    Well, the point is, it’s so difficult to choose ONE particular “place of interest” so to say…and hence by the law of random numbers, I choose the Great Ocean Road as it promises to be the “Ride to remember”…I have heard so much about this amazing highway that stretches across the ocean…the cool breeze, the mesmerizing receptivity ; it sends across goosebumps already. It sure promises to be the ride of a life-time. Should I start singing the “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” already? NO WONDER! 🙂

    Loved your post…you should write more often.

    Cheers
    Sammya
    http://www.deckleedge.info/

    • bengaliceo says:

      Thank you so much for your compliment sir I strongly agree with you The 12 Apostles of the Great Ocean road is just mesmerizing and beautiful The evenings look so beautiful. And amazing. No wonder I wish to visit the Great Ocean Road with you someday

  3. cruxrebels says:

    Great post! After reading your post & watching all the videos, I’d most like to visit the Dandenong Ranges for it’s scenic beauty, breathtaking view and cool breeze blowing through my hair. 😛 I’d give anything away for driving through the winding roads which are present throughout the ranges. I’d love to stay at one of the bed and breakfast cottages and go on frequent excursions in the forests with my camera which provides excellent views. And not to forget the famous ride in the Puffing Billy, a day reserved especially for that. To add to that, there are also several picnic spots for me and my friends to spend a fun-filled day and the ranges are a perfect spot for hiking and cycling.

    Pingback: https://cruxrebels.wordpress.com/2014/12/24/melbourne-the-place-to-be-see/

    Wish you and your blog a happy new year! :D

    • bengaliceo says:

      Thank you so much man. Wish you a new year as well. After reading your comment even I feel that I should visit the Dandenong ranges. The ranges look good and just enthralling. And the best place for cycling as well.

  4. Ranjith says:

    I would like to visit the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) which is located in Yarra Park. Cricket has fancied me since childhood. I still remember those days when the elders in my neighbourhood used to start shouting and hunting for us the moment the cricket ball hit by me broke one of their window panes. Running away from them was even more exciting than playing cricket itself.

    I used to follow every cricket match played by India religiously and used to analyse and discuss it with friends and siblings for days and months. Being such an enthusiastic fan of cricket, visiting one of the world’s largest cricket stadiums is one of my dreams.

    The thought of being seated amongst 95,000 other fans of cricket and cheering the players itself sounds exciting to me. Such large cricket stadiums are one of the ways to explore how much the passion for cricket has penetrated among the people of the world. MCG is located in Yarra Park, which also has many other sporting fields. This would allow me to explore not just cricket, but also many other games.

    – Ranjith (http://www.alightheartedtalk.com)

    • bengaliceo says:

      Hello Ranjith, sounds awesome that a lot of people want to visit MCG. That’s true that it has a lot of people seating capacity and Yarra Park is also good to visit. Let’s see if I could visit it someday. And thank you for the answer!

  5. Alok says:

    Interesting Post
    After reading your post and watching all the videos
    I feel I have stepped into a kaleidoscope called Melbourne
    Where Vistas of experiences would unfold one after another
    The nature lover in me is enticed by the thought of watching the penguin parade.
    Traveling though the great ocean road, soaking up the freshness as the breeze ruffles my hair gets me in the mood to pack my bags for Melbourne.
    But before I can move ,Puffing Billy whistles and invites me for a ride. The kid in me jumps with joy at the thought of visiting Pannys Phillip Island Chocolate Factory
    Even before I can deside on the list of places that I would like to see in and around Melbourne.
    What’s that noise that I hear ?
    Oh its loud cheer from MCG as the cricket world cup 2015 is about to kick start.
    So many plces to see and so much to do.
    I am thetimetraveler ( http://goo.gl/wdXDzu ) and I have decided … Melbourne here I come ( http://goo.gl/RvUCQf )

  6. Prathap says:

    Some of the most interesting places which I shortlisted to visit after watching Tanmay and Rohan’s videos is here. This comment space would be very less in order to keep on giving the reasons to visit these places once in life, but I am trying to be as short and crisp as possible and these are the must visit places if at all I go to Melbourne in my life.

    Yarra Valley for Great Day out and Excellent Wine Tasting tour which seems totally magical. Driving around Yarra Valley in a beautiful and breathtaking places seems like a great country getaway from Melbourne city and so much to see, visit and taste.

    Going for a Seal Watching Cruise and Observing those inquisitive & graceful creatures close up, is a trip one will not forget I guess. It seems to be a totally a worthy place for young and old too. So many seals getting close to them could be an absolutely thrilling experience.

    Another place I wouldn’t want to miss is Sunny Ridge Strawberry farm for some AMAZING Strawberry ice cream and strawberries, it seems like a strawberry heaven with delicious, succulent and mouth watering strawberries ever. I am sure this place visit would be a great experience for the kids too.

    Have you watched Penguins parade ? If not, I guess this is the place to visit which is Phillip Island Nature Park. The experience to watch these penguins is Out of this world, a must see for great experience and its awesome

    for Animal lovers too. Its like cute litte faires coming in from Ocean. I guess, this is a MUST do experience when I am in Melbourne.

    Are you a chocolate lover ? I guess Pannys Amazing World of Chocolate is a must visit place for enjoying some mouth watering chocolates. Also, just watching the huge waterfall of chocolate cascade down is breath taking. And watching the live chocolate making is fun.

    If you are a drive freak and love to drive around in some scenic spots, this is the place to visit which is “The Great Ocean Road”. Seems like it would be a Great tour, great food and fantastic view.

    Some more places which I love to visit is Montalto Vineyard & Olive Grove, Loch Ard Gorge beach, Chateau Yering BBQ for some amazing Australian BBQ and definitely a hot air balloon ride for spectacular sightseeing and experience in life.

  7. asthaguptaa says:

    Wow! Each time I read something new about Melbourne, I want to go there even more! 🙂
    As for your questions, right now, I’m tending towards the Regent theater with so much history – watching blockbusters there would be an experience not to miss! Let me add it to my bucket list and keep my fingers crossed that we both get to visit Melbourne soon enough 🙂

  8. Nikita says:

    Given a chance to visit Melbourne, I would absolutely make a run for Eureka Skydeck 88..Imagine the view of the city from such a great height of over 300 metres and while you are suspended in air in a glass box!
    This is an experience not to be missed and I hope I get a chance to visit Melbourne and go explore Eureka Skydeck 88 soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

