Failure, a stepping stone to success!

Posted: March 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

I would like to start the post in this way. IIT JEE 2012 result day. Everyone was pretty much excited. And I was sitting nervous. Because I knew that inner feeling. The feeling of not being able to succeed inspite of the fact that the results were not out yet at that moment. Yet somewhere I felt a little positive about the marks. The little positiveness too withered away as well when the results were declared and I was disqualified. Yes, my name was not at all shortlisted because I scored way too less marks than the actual cutoff and after that I was shattered to the core of my heart. Yes,I was shattered because I had studied for the IIT JEE examination for the past 3-4 years. And I felt everything was in vain. Little did I know that I wouldn’t be able to perform on the doomsday but it was all in good spirit. That day,somewhat I was unable to control and weeped a bit. But then, my parents suggested me, to switch off my cellphones and to cut off connection from the world.

It is true that, my parents never pressurized me about doing well in the competitive examinations. And, not to brag but I have the best, or you could say “coolest” parents in the world. They also gave me options, that I could do whatever I want. Obviously that doesn’t mean whatever. But, it was about my career. They even said me that if you don’t feel to pursue engineering then don’t. But do not force yourself to do what you dislike to do.

Anyways, coming back to the results day scenario. After I switched off all my mobile phones, dad and mom planned to go on an outing to cheer me up. Incidentally, even dad kept his mobile phone off for the rest of the day as well. And after that, we went to the Gateway of India. There, sitting by the massive arch, reading the various scriptures on the arch, Dad explained me, how should I learn to accept failures. We also had some Kulfi, or we could say it Flavoured IceCream. Mom also tried to tell me that even she was unable to make it to the huge universities in Kolkata during her pre-graduation days. When I started analyzing, I realized that everything boils down to square one. Which, I feel is success. Even if you cannot be an engineer, or if you cannot be anything, if you are determined, success is bound to come to you no matter what.

After spending some moments of scenic beauty and refreshment of the mind, we all went together for a dinner. While having food,dad and mom together started discussing plans on what did I have in my mind. What did I have in my mind. What should I do next. How should everything be back on track, and how should I take this as a success because life isn’t about crying over the fact that I couldn’t get into the IITs.

Probably,that would be a memorable day for me. Absolutely memorable. I’m writing this,today, while pursuing engineering in a not-so-reputed institute, but I do have some huge aspirations and I do feel, I would succeed someday.

This post is a part of the Housing.com campaign.

Leave a Reply

