My bestest friend from Türkçe!

Posted: March 31, 2015 in Uncategorized

It all happened with just a connection request in the online networking forum LinkedIN. I sent her a connection request, and she instantly accepted it. From there, we got in touch with each other and finally became good friends.

The main barrier between both of us was language. She was an intermediate level English speaker and I was a newbie to the language of Turkey. Yet, somehow we managed to cross the barriers and conversed with each other in whichever way we could. I loved the fact that “Turkish people do like the fact whenever some foreigner tries to speak in their native language.” From there, today I’ve known so many terms and sentences in Turkish, that I address her Güzelsin all the time. And at times she corrects me that it isn’t “Güzelsin”_ but “Güzellik”. (Sincerely,I still haven’t found the difference in the meaning of the two words). Though both the words mean beautiful in Turkish, according to me, I understood that I need to learn a lot more about her and her language and culture as well.

It felt good when she said, she knew about my country India. Oh, I forgot to introduce you all to her. Her name is Betül Erden. She lives in Istanbul. And she’s very güzelsin! 🙂 (P.S She does have a boyfriend … so no chance). She explained that India was a topic taught to her during school days and the country was famous for spices, culture, art, dance and moreover of that, variety of food. She also showed me some instances where the Türkish people changed their mindset and started to study about Indian cultures and dance forms as well.

When I introduced myself to her, the first lines, which came to her was, “You belong to the country of colours right? The women wear saree, so colourful they are! So gorgeous they look”. Not offending anyone, but Indian ladies do look more graceful in saree than the so called “Western outfits”.

So this was a small anecdote about my best friend who lives in Istanbul, Turkey, Europe. She does invites me everytime whenever I mention about her country and it’s natural beauty! And, we do have similiar interests as well, so hopefully I will be able to meet her up in real someday.

Thank you Betül,for being a part of my life 🙂 I hope you are reading this.

Comments
  1. Archana Kapoor says:

    How nice! Brought back memories of pen friends during my childhood days 🙂

    • bengaliceo says:

      😀 That’s so nice to hear ma’am. Oh yes, haven’t informed. My parents were penfriends & got married later on.But that story I’d like to write some other day, sooner or later. 🙂 It was an amazing concept back then.

  2. Flo says:

    It’s so great when friendships grow out of the absolutely unexpected places.

  3. Betül Erden says:

    It’s soooo nice and I’m thank you too, for being a part of my life. You always text me, on my journey. It’s makes me happy, i like to talk with you. You are my best friend.

Leave a Reply

