College, travelling to and fro!

Posted: April 8, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I actually was writing this post when I was sitting in the train down on the footboard floor. Oh, you might start on with the precautions and safety hazards of travelling on the footboard. But believe me, the joy of travelling on footboards of the train is fun. Though I PERSONALLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO TRAVEL ON FOOTBOARDS. It is bad actually. But it has got into the habit. Even I’m trying to get rid of this bad habit.

image

Highly recommended. No travelling on footboards please! Issued in Public Interest!

Nonetheless. This has kind of ,become a part of my life. Travelling 75+ kms twice a week is cool. Though I never expected that I’ll be travelling so much just in my graduation life.

I agree I had issues with the laidback attitude of the city, but later on, even I became a victim of the very famous term here i.e “lyadh khaoa”. This term, I believe cannot be ever expressed in words. You can ask any Bengali person around you, that whether, lazing around can be used in replacement for the above expression, and get a non – affirmative reply. And if you are a Bengali, I don’t feel I need to explain it.

Do not mistaken the word I have used. Here, by travelling, I mean travelling each and every week to and fro from college to my home in Kolkata.

My college is in Kolaghat, which is situated in East Midnapore district of West Bengal. Sadly, we do not have jaw dropping scenic beauty but we do have a lake in front of our college, a riverbank just a kilometre away and, beautiful spots like Digha, Mandarmoni, etc just an hour or two away.

image

The Kolaghat Thermal Power Station. Just 5 mins away from the college. Nothing to see though, but I think, mechanical and electrical engineering students will know it's worth.

So this journey starts every Tuesday morning at 4.30am. Earlier when mom didn’t come to Kolkata,  I had a hard time waking up to multiple alarms (mind you I have a very bad habit of deep sleeping). After waking up at 4.30am, getting ready and leaving home at exactly 4.45am to catch a bus either towards Howrah or switch buses to reach Santragachi. The bus journey takes me approximately one hour and fifteen minutes either way.

Days when I am late, I go via the Santragachi route. Else via the Howrah route. Normally, I go via the Santragachi route because trains tend to leave late from Howrah. Nonetheless, after reaching Santragachi, getting ticket is a hassle but doesn’t consume more than fifteen minutes. After the ticket is bought, buying Economic Times is a must, for keeping myself updated with the current affairs.

Then I board any train which is heading towards Kharagpur which takes again a toll of one hour and thirty minutes. If I caught the same train from Howrah, it would have taken me more than two hours.

image

Sunrise at the bridge where I change buses towards Santragachi!

After reaching Kolaghat station, it takes me just 10-15 minutes to reach my college. So, if I leave around 4.45 from home, I reach college around 8.20-8.30 am! Same applies to the return journey! Takes approximately 3 hours.

Why just three hours? Because, when coming I prefer travelling by cabbies. Earlier, I always came via the longest route. Now as mom is at Kolkata, I tend to run back home as soon as possible. Feels good actually, just when I think there’s someone in this known – unknown land who is waiting for me to reach home!

image

The small lake near our college!

So this is my little weekly itinerary. I hope to travel more, to explore new places and newer people!

Comments
  1. Archana Kapoor says:

    you seem to be having a lot of fun traveling to and fro πŸ™‚ enjoy… just take care while traveling! god bless

  2. Archana Kapoor says:

    ps – lovely pic πŸ™‚

  3. selfdriveenthusiast says:

    Travelling on Train is fun and enjoy journey……. amazing photos………

  4. kokilagupta says:

    its great to meet you – a person who don’t crib about this to and fro journey..specially because I too used to enjoy these …..
    (but Not now :p)
    PS – be safe .. The first pic was awesome but not more than life πŸ™‚

    • bengaliceo says:

      Absolutely ma’am πŸ™‚ I’ll see to it that I click safer pictures from now on. The feeling is mutual. Even I’m feeling honored and nice to meet you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

