Bang for the buck, Indians!

Posted: June 10, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I like to observe a lot of people. And the ones mentioned below are just simply the result of my observations.I would simply like to mention, that being an Indian, even I have this trait of finding an object which would actually give me “Bang for the buck” or as we call it in Hindi “Paisa Vasooli”.

Everyone in India, ranging from a pauper to a princess, is used to this habit. Bang for the buck. Yes obviously, there are times when it does not work. But Indians would obviously find a way, by hook or crook, to find “paisa vasooli” for the money they’ll pay for the object.

I myself have seen this in shopping malls, vegetable shops, clothing stores and many more places. Not to mention,even online retailers give so much freebies. Why? So that we could think, “Oh they’re giving freebies, i.e paisa vasool man!” But, there are some instances where we don’t even need to ask freebies. We ask for the extra amount of stuff we buy.

For example, My grandmother. When she was able to walk, she used to take me to the grocery store and vegetable markets so that I could learn the trait of bargaining. I was a child during that time. Probably about 6-7 years of age. I used to follow her and keenly listen to her conversations.

“How much is the potato?”, “Dadiji, it’s 25rs a kilo.” “What? Aisa daam bataiye jisse ki main le sakoon(Tell me a price so that I could buy)”. So the shopkeeper agrees to give 1kg and 250grams instead of the 1kg Potato for Rs 25. So, we can call the extra 250gms as a freebie maybe! But this was not only restricted to vegetables. This even included while buying rice, and other necessities as well.

Oh yes, fish. I’d like to raise a point here as well. Fishes are like, have to be complementary. Like when my grandma bought a big fish, she used to ask either the fish eggs, or a small fish of the same kind as a complementary.

I highly doubt whether today, it does work or not. But I have learnt the way how to bargain across the street and buy a commodity for atleast half the price the seller quotes.

This also reminds me of an incident for which I was totally embarrassed but, it was fine when the seller agreed. It goes as follows,

I and my elder cousin sister had gone for shopping. She had 1000 rupees with her, and I had 550 rupees. Now, she was an expert in bargaining, thanks to my grandma’s teachings. Now, as we were strolling around the shops, she found a beautiful anarkali dress. The quoted price was 2100Rs. Now, didi realized that the shop wasn’t a bargain free shop. She took advantage of the situation and simply went ahead to buy the Anarkali. And the bargain game started. 2100 to 1100. Then 1700 to 1300. I was worried and, I knew that she would be able to outwit the seller. She finally managed to make it upto Rs 1500, and she bought it. (That’s another thing that we both had to walk half the way and then catch a bus to home because 50 rs wasn’t enough to reach home.)

This is not only the case of my own family. This is the situation of every family in India. Yes, we do find bang for the buck, anytime, anywhere.

Even a person who is probably rich, will still find a bang for his buck. Why? Because it’s a quality. It is something which unites us. All Indians, have this trait of bargaining and finding “paisa vasool” in their commodities.

It’s as simple as follows, A girl would buy a dress with a high price, only if there are some freebies i.e ornaments, and other similiar things thrown into it. Because freebies.

And why not? All of us know, that we have this inborn quality to find paisa vasool. Even I, myself when buying a phone, ask the salesperson for freebies i.e extra offers,etc. Recently I bought a new phone. When I asked for the offers, they said that for 100 rupees extra I was getting a 8GB memory card and 4GB of downloads for free. So I gave the extra buck, and got the freebies at a very nominal price.

I could see, Lufthansa taking us Indians way too seriously. Hence, maybe, the new Economy class was launched by the Lufthansa Airways. So many features, at an economy price. Let me list down some of the features then!

As I’m a tech savvy student, I would always want my favourite gadgets to be connected all the time. And hey! Who wouldn’t want to web-checkin “Guys, I’m off to Frankfurt!”. Now, for all these things, Lufthansa has been kind enough to supply two sockets and USB ports for ease of use and ease of access as well. This is a boon for us students, that too, who would be travelling at economy prices!

Suppose you ain’t a tech savvy person. Okay everyone isn’t into gadgets. But still you are getting bored, Lufthansa has made special arrangements as well. They have offered a big screen where you could watch Hollywood movies. Now, if you dislike Hollywood movies, then you could play games as well on the large screen. They have also provided magazines as well. Imagine, if these could be the freebies provided at an economy price, what all things can they offer you, at the premium classes!

For now, I can think of only these features. There are more features, but for them you have to check out the link, and the video below.

Also,a person can be of any religion, race, or creed. But if he/she is an Indian, he/she has to know the art of haggling, and bargaining in markets and bazaars. This is where, we are united. We are one. We are Indians.

And, “Paisa Vasooli” is in our blood. Embedded deep into our ancestral roots!

This post is a part of the Premium Economy – Lufthansa contest. #LufthansaPremiumEconomy

Comments
  1. TEARA90 says:

    awee… the dadi stories surely fills me with nostalgia!! such a nice piece bengaliceo!! looks like a winner πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

